Europe bans Travelers from the US

Europe bans Travelers from the US europe

Europe has formalized its reopening plans, but not all countries are on the list of nations that will be allowed to visit.

The European Union will open its borders tomorrow, July 1st, to visitors from 15 countries. The United States is not on that list, however. Leaving the US off of the list is said to be a high-profile rebuke of the Trump administration’s handling of the COVID-19 crisis.

The countries on the list are:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Traveler’s country of residence is the determining factor of their ability to travel to Europe, not their nationality. The policy is not legally binding but countries in the European Union will be under pressure to comply.

Officials say the list of safe countries will be reviewed every two weeks and countries could be added or removed from the list.


From our friends at
Filed Under: News, Planning, Travel, COVID-19, Europe, European Union, Travel Ban, United States